Assessment at Garsington Primary - Information for Parents

· In September 2014 the new Primary Curriculum was introduced.

· The use of levels does not match the new curriculum.

· 2014/15 was the last time that pupils were assessed at the end of key stage 1 and 2 using levels and indeed across the rest of the year groups. We now assess without using levels. 

Assessing Progress and Standards without Levels 

· Progress and standards for all pupils (Years 1 to 6) will now be tracked using a grade descriptor system. 

· The descriptions are emerging, developing, expected and exceeding.

Mastery Learning

In addition to assessing curriculum knowledge and understanding we also assess the depth of learning.

1: denotes an ability to recall a fact, follow a process or give a simple response

2: denotes an ability to apply understanding in a given context

3: denotes an ability to apply understanding in a different context or solve a more complex problem with prompts

4: denotes an ability to apply understanding creatively to unfamiliar problems and alternative contexts unaided

Key Assessment Points

Foundation Stage

· The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) profile assessment is carried out in the final term of the Reception Year.

· It provides an assessment of individual children at the end of the Reception Year.

· The Prime areas that the children are assessed against are:-

        - Communication and Language

        - Physical Development

        - Personal, Social and Emotional Development

        - Literacy

        - Maths

The children are also assessed in two other areas:

        - Understanding of the World

        - Expressive Art and Design

The assessments from the Prime areas are used to decide if children have reached a Good Level of Development (GLD).

At the end of Reception Year children will be assessed against the Early Learning Goals and will be either at an emerging stage, expected stage or exceeding stage.

Key Stage 1 SATS (End of Year 2) 

At the end of Year 2 teachers will assess the progress of pupils and use tests to help inform these judgments. 

·         Reading (two test papers)

·         Grammar Punctuation and Spelling Test (three papers)

·         Writing (teacher assessed)

·         Maths (two papers)

KS1 Assessments-2018-Information-for-Parents

Red Words List is the list of words that all children need to be able to read and spell by the end of year 2. 

Year 1 Phonics Screening Check

· The Phonics Screening Check shows how well children can use their phonics skills at the end of Year 1.

· The results help the school to identify children who need more help with letters and sounds.

· The check consists of 40 words and non-words that your child will be asked to read one to one with their teacher. Non-words (or nonsense words) are a collection of letters that follow phonics rules your child has been taught, but don’t mean anything.

· Your child will be scored against a national standard and we will inform you of whether your child has met the expected standard in the test. In the past the expected standard has been 32/40.

· Children who do not meet the required standard will receive extra phonics support in Year 2 and will be re-checked at the end of Year 2.

Key Stage 2 SATS (End of Year 6)

At the end of Year 6 the pupils will take tests to measure their progress and standard reached.

·         Reading (one test based on three or four texts)

·         Grammar Punctuation and Spelling Test (two papers)

·         Writing (teacher assessed)

·         Maths (two tests, one arithmetic and one solving problems and reasoning)